Posted by: mohanned | May 17, 2007

Cheese Cake

Cheese Cakewell now lets turn to the fun part of being far away from home, and I will do that by giving you the recipe for the best  Jordanian cheese cake, it kicks new york in the butt. After some trial an error I have reached the ultimate cheese cake.

Ingredients:

1- 20 OZ of cream cheese(Aktar mn nos kilo bshway).

2- 16 OZ of sour cream (Agal mn nos kilo bshwayI don’t know if it has an arabic equivalent).

3- 3 to 4 Eggs.

4- Graham crackers (Baskoot mary, aw baskoot el mo2assaseh el 3askaryyeh).

5- 8 OZ of butter (Abo wgeyyet zebdeh).

6- Cup of sugar (Kaset sokkar, mesh ta3at monta7’ab el 3a9eer).

7- Vanilla.

The process:

1- First mix the butter with the graham crackers in the backing pan and add some sugar(3-4 spoons), then press onto the bottom of the pan, after that you bake it for about 10 minutes at 325-350.

2- While the crust is backing use the mixer to mix all of the other ingredients, start with the cheese and the sour cream then add the eggs, the sugar and a hint of vanilla, keep in the mixer for about 1-2 minutes(you will get shanineh like mixture but a little bit thicker)

3- Pour this mixture on the top of the crust, the make sure that the bottom of the backing pan is covered with foil( I will till you why next).

4- In another pan add some hot water so that when you put the cheese cake pan it will be covered with water almost to the middle.

5- Put the cheese cake pan in the water pan and bake at 325-350 for almost an hour, when you see that the top is becoming golden turn off the oven.

6- Take  the cheese cake pan out and let it sit for 1-2 hours, add your favorite topping and chill for 6-8 hours.

I recommend doing this at night before you sleep, the next day when you wake up it will be ready to be eaten with a cup of coffee.

Enjoy, and you are welcome.

The picture is for a blueberry cheese cake I made:)


Responses

  1. 3a rasi chef Mohanned ma 3reftak wallah! is this this cheese cake in sal66i way?

  2. Yummmmmyyyyyy… what “Enjoy and you are welcome” you are talking about??? .. hey Mohannad, i don’t enjoy looking at the picture.. I want some.. should I send you my mailing address??? hehehe.
    walahi si7tain ow 3afyeh 3ala albak, your wife, and the little baby.. don’t tell me balashto stuffing her cheese cake??

  3. Who-sane, sorry I didn’t know the da7none will follow me here!

  4. I use leban instead of sour cream in Jordan…cause I don’t think they have SC. First time I made it there, I paid like 3 JD for each block of cream cheese and God knows how much for some fake “Oreo” cookies. And on those ovens, how much is 350 degrees?!?!?!?😉 I made two cakes. I put them in the fridge and by the time morning came the were both eaten and the pans licked clean. My cousins claimed there were sleep walking and eating. One of them I would understand, but all 4 of them. I think the pan is the most important part besides of course the cheese and no ordinary pan will do. Gotta go with a springform.

  5. i like the way you translated this into arabic 3ammi :p i like it better than the ounce thingy.. and i guess they use digestive, msh mry buscuits for the cheese cake..

  6. Yeee hada inta shater Mohannad
    2ana ba2ool balah Phd Ballah bateekh, go home and open a patisserie…willa ifta7 basta bi salt a7san…he he he

  7. wow mohanned I’m impressed! the cheesecake is making me drool! ..

    and LOL @ “Abo wgeyyet ..” hehehe.

    I have a feeling that I’m not the only arnab (rabbit) out there!😉

  8. Sel3,
    You have seen nothing yet!!

    Secratea,
    We sell by slice:) Thanks again, and about the baby, no I will start by mansaf I don’t want her to turn out to be one of those papi mami kids:)

    Luai,
    Laban!!And about the 325 I dunno, google a Feh to cel converter and do the math ;P

    Mrs,
    I think mary will do:)

    7aki,
    Seriously, maybe one day I will open a resturant, and I am thinking to going to a cooking school:)

    Whos,
    There is a difference between choice and force, I chose to make the cheese cake(In my mind at Least), hahaha

  9. Looks yummy🙂 Sa7a, I will try it😉

  10. Cheesecake is a dessert consisting primarily of a mixture based on soft, fresh cheese (not always cream cheese), eggs, and sugar; often on a crust or base made from hard biscuits (such as a graham cracker crust), pastry or sponge cake.[1] It may be baked or unbaked. Cheesecake is usually sweetened with sugar and may be flavored or topped with fruit, nuts, fruit sauce and/or chocolate. Various flavours of cheesecake exist, such as lemon, strawberry or toffee.`

    Newest posting coming from our personal internet page
    <'http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

