Posted by: 7aki Fadi | May 18, 2007

7elwa ya baladi

As I was riding the train back from work today listening to “7ilwa ya baladi” on my MP3 player and looking out the window I started daydreaming:

  

That street over there…..I didn’t learn to ride my bike on it. 

That tree over there……..I didn’t climb it and fall and hurt my knee.

That park over there…..I didn’t grow up riding its swings and pretending I was touching the sky.

That school over there….I didn’t play in its playground.

That valley over there…….I didn’t follow it’s path  on my bus rides to and from University everyday.

That pond over there…….I didn’t through rocks….oh, hold on, there are no ponds in
Amman.

Then I woke up.

As I looked out the window I wondered: How can I call this home when my memories are all somewhere else, my heart belongs somewhere else, and my family are all somewhere else?

Will my daughter grow up here and call it home?

Only time will tell.

Here’s to home wherever home may be.


Responses

  1. yes 7aki fadi. Unless you grew up elsewhere, nothing would remind you of how beautiful your childhood was. Home is where the heart is indeed.

    and the song 7ilwa ya baladi is just amazing! …

  2. you are very creative…

    i did not day dream when I first came to the states. worse, I used to talk to myself!!

  3. 7aki. is there anyway you can upload the song?

    And by the way, why is there a wide empty space between the first paragraph and the rest of the post? is there something there that I can’t see?

  4. oh 7aki, that is nice.. home is where the memoires are.. memories that will be gone with the wind one day if we do not go back… I don’t want America to be the only memory of home for my children when i get married and have them..lol, but jad, i will hurt so much if Jordan (any part of it) does not become part of their, at least, childhood landscape and memory… ehhhh i am sad😦

  5. whosane: I embedded a vedio but it’s not working, can you edit the post and see if you can make it come up?
    THAAAAAAAAAAANKS

  6. Very nice 7aki. this song used to bring me to tears when I was living away during uni !

  7. Nice one 7aki. it seems the problem is on YouTube this video is not loading there also… maybe too many expats are checking ti😉

  8. You are welcome:)

  9. I can see the video now!

    wow, the song is just amazing! thanks for sharing 7aki!

  10. Who-sane: I finally got the video (I wanted) to work, check it, it’s the song over pictures of Amman.

    Globalrama: there were some episodes where I talked to myself, but out of anger and frustration though at some stupid people here ..lol

    secratea: It’s so true, but you know what, I am building new memories here with my daughter so maybe it will become home.

    Tamara: The first time I listened to this song abroad was 2 years after I left and I hadn’t went home for a visit , and I was on the train ( I am on the train A LOT) and it hit me soooo bad how much I missed home. I love this song.

    Sel3: it works now🙂

    Mohannad: thanks buddy🙂.

  11. awwwwwwww, I love this clip with the song😉 Just perfect!

  12. yes 7aki, this is the video I was talking about, but still I can’t play it😦

  13. if your daughter grows up here, she will feel the same way about amman:) canada will be her home….:o) just like the rest of us..:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

